Can I read a Rails database from within a Stimulus controller?

Hello! Rails and Stimulus/Ajax beginner here, and I was hoping someone might have some advice to get me unstuc…

I’m making an online Invoicing app, and have an Invoice form, which also uses nested Lineitem partials inside of it. In each nested Lineitem, you can select a “Billable” name , which derives from my Billable model. My Billable model has three attributes: Name, Price and Comment. The user sets these up before making an invoice….

Anyway, when the user selects a Billable name from the Lineitem’s drop-down menu (for instance “Sound “Recordist or “Microphones” or “Meals”), I want to use Stimulus to automatically populate the Lineitem’s Price and Comment input fields with the data from the selected Billable’s Price and Comment attributes (which act as defaults).

Any idea how to best go about this? I can use Stimulus to read my drop-down’s Billable ID, but I can’t seem to find anything about reading a model’s database attributes from within a Stimulus controller (so I can look up the Billable’s other attributes—price and comment). I’ve looked at some concepts like Stimulus Hovercards but the examples are able to call up database info from the Rails environment before sending it to Stimulus for DOM rendering, whereas I can’t know what Billable record to look up until I’m inside the Javascript controller, and then I’m in Javascript. Or that’s what I think, at least. :wink:

Any advice much appreciated, thanks!

PS Attaching a visual cue to help understand what I’m trying to do…

1 Like

Hi k2director,

You could add an event listener to your select and then fetch data from a Rails action.
If you set the id as the value of your select options.

<select data-action="change->my-controller#selectHandler">

You can do something like:

selectHandler(e) {
 let id = e.target.value;
 fetch(`/controller/action/${id}`)
 .then((response) => response.json())
 .then((data) => doSomethingWithYourDataHere(data));
}