My link is opening in a new page instead of my turbo-frame

I have a page with a list of results.

If I make the results links and set the data-turbo-frame to the turbo-frame that I have, when I click the link, it simply opens the link as a new page. NOT as part of my current page in the specified turbo-frame.

If I make the results buttons and as a result of clicking the button, my javascript sets the src of the turbo-frame. It works. Sort of. It messes up my browser back and reload buttons.

What might I be doing wrong such that the links are not working?
I am new to this so forgive me if I didnt provide enough information. I just dont understand why specifying the turbo-frame in the link doesnt work when setting the src does.

Thanks!

Hey, Johno! Could you show your code example how do you do?

I found part of my problem. My link was not inside my turbo-frame. But I still have problems.

Before I add code, here is what I am trying to achieve:
User starts on my main page and clicks ‘See Results’. This goes to my results page.
The results page is split in 2 sections: Left is results. Right is detail (blank at first).
When user clicks on a result, the detail is filled in.
At this point, if the user clicks the browser’s back button, I want the user to see the results page with a black section on the right. But it is actually taking me back to my main page.
Or if the user hits the browser’s reload button, I want my results page to load with the details still filled in on the right.

My original problem was that my link was not in the turbo-frame whose data I wanted filled in. So now I have a click event handler that prevents the link from loading a new page. Instead, it sets the src attribute of my turbo-frame. That works great. But it still goes back to the main page if the user clicks the back button.