Progressive enhancement philosophy and WHEN to add Hotwired?

I’ve tried to search the forum to find something that speaks to this question, but I didn’t really find a “foundations” kind of answer. I’m new to Hotwire - still just reading the docs and watching YouTube videos. But, one thing that isn’t quite gelling in my head is when to actually add Hotwire to a project? I understand that Hotwire takes a progressive enhancement approach to web development. But, does that mean that the entire suite of features in my app should work without Hotwire? And, that I should only start adding Hotwire and decomposing into frames once all the “standalone page” versions of interactions are complete?

I’m sure the answer is (as always), it depends; but, if anyone could share their general approach, I’d greatly appreciate it!

My biggest concern of going the full “progressive enhancement”, “after app is working” approach is that it might take much more refactoring to get a good UX once I start to add Hotwire. As opposed to working with Hotwire from the beginning and being able to plan for it as I go.

Thanks!

2 Likes

Welcome! And thank you for verifying your Senior Dev Cred™ by invoking the important qualifier “it depends”. You’re right, there are many ways to look at this.

The hard-line progressive enhancement approach would be to always ensure that nothing is required besides HTML and HTTP(S) requests to access the app and use it effectively. That’s not always practical, but that’s the hard line approach. I don’t recommend you go all the way with this, because if you try to make a Rails app work without JavaScript, you’re building quite a lot of work for yourself. But do bear with me here.