Stimulus: Lots of small controllers vs few larger ones?

Hey All,

I’m relatively new to Stimulus and loving it so far! However I was wondering…

Most of my stimulus is centered around dynamic form changes, think showing certain divs when checkboxes are checked and the like. I first started with a larger form controller, but soon found that I couldn’t pair an action with a certain target repeatedly within the form controller (think repeating checkboxes with each tied to their own div that shows/hides on checked/uncheck) without resorting to action parameters to specify targets. So I’m putting most field interactions into their own controllers, but this results in a LOT of controllers with one action for one dynamic interaction. Is this a good design pattern or am I missing something? It also means the potential of MANY controllers initializing on a single page…I assume the connect / initialize of these controllers are fairly lightweight?

1 Like

Could you explain yourself a bit more, sorry.

I believe it boils down to preference and the actions. Are the actions related in any way?. Maybe you can create a generic controller that acts as the housing of all the related actions?.

1 Like

To elaborate. Here is a controller that i grouped together, it basically disables a submit button in a form based on the fact of the input. See, the controller can either have target elements(see filledInputs method), or the input can directly call the sync method to check the status.

import { Controller } from "stimulus";

export default class extends Controller {
    static targets = ["submit", 'input'];
    static values = {
        enabled: Boolean,
    }

connect() {
        if(this.enabledValue) {
           this.activate();
        } else {
           this.deactivate();
        }
    }

activate() {
        if(this.active) return;

this.submitTarget.disabled = false;
    }

deactivate() {
        if(this.inactive) return;
        this.submitTarget.disabled = true;
    }