Turbo Stream action for remove and [append/prepend/...]

Currently there are only 7 default actions for turbo-stream.

How about we get an extensions of other actions such as remove-and-append or remove-and-prepend etc.

Currently I am using jQuery to resolve this issue but if it can be resolved with turbo, it would be much better.

I am just a beginner. Don’t take my french seriously. Would love to know your thoughts on this.

Are you familiar with custom turbo stream actions?

2 Likes

I will give it a read.

Although I once tried to do it with jQuery and stimulus but it was a lot of gymnastics.

This is so great! Being able to create a custom visit Stream action is going to solve a lot of my problems, I think.

I just wanted to drop this here since being able to create a custom stream action helped me figure out how to handle a transcluded Form inside another page:

Coming from a ColdFusion background, most form POSTs are followed by a 302 redirect with a Location header. However, if I use a Location inside a <turbo-frame>, then I can only update the contents inside that frame, which can be problematic if I want to update anything outside that frame (as well).

I know that most people in Hotwire will use Streams to perform append and replace actions. But, as a baby-step, I wanted to use a custom visit action to tell the parent page to reload two different frames. This incurs more network latency, obviously; but, is a relatively straightforward mental model coming from ColdFusion.

It’s also valid to have multiple streams in the same response. For example, I use

<turbo-stream action="append" target="pagedList">
	<template>
Content 
</template>
</turbo-stream>
<turbo-stream action="remove" target="LoadMoreButton">
	<template>
	</template>
</turbo-stream>

I find that this does the same, but requires less extending in the front end. I usually make a helper in my backend that takes multiple streams and creates a response.

1 Like