Off the wall use of Stimulus

I’m just a hobbyist developer but have been using Rails since v 1.0 and stimulus since its introduction.

I tried to update another app from Rails 7.0 to 7.1 and I’m stuck. I have a gem OFX that has never been well maintained. It parses OFX data that is kind of XML, but there are attribute tags that don’t have closing tags. It’s the standard for bank transactions. Rails 7.1 requires a newer version of nokogiri, (which OFX uses) and I don’t think it’s going to get updated.

There are quite a few parsers out there, but it was the only one I could find in Ruby. They all just take an input file and return some kind if Structure.

Looking for a replacement and found ofx-data-extractor which is a Yarn package.

Is there a way to import the package with stimulus and use it in a controller to parse the ofx-data?

Sure you can use ofx-data-extractor in a Stimulus controller
Actually what is advised here GitHub - Fabiopf02/ofx-data-extractor: A module written in TypeScript that provides a utility to extract data from an OFX file in Node.js and Browser in the github readme is exactly how to use it.

If you are using Stimulus you must be familiar with importing some packages into your stimulus controller. For example this is the way to import popper in a Stimulus controller :

i

import { Controller } from "@hotwired/stimulus"
import { createPopper } from '@popperjs/core';

export default class extends Controller {

connect(){   
    }
]

You can do same with ofx-data-extractor

Of course you have to add this package to your node modules folder :
yarn add ofx-data-extractor

The main problem here is that your ofx gem is doing its job backend. But your Stimulus Controller is imported as bulk with your other Stimulus controllers and added to your Rails 7 HTML pages. Such as in application.html
For example this is an extract my app/views/layout/application.html.erb file :