Rendering a new partial prevent another one to be displayed

Hi there! :wave:

I’m still a beginner, but I loved the syntax and the way Stimulus work. So I’m using it in one of my Rails projet. I’m facing a little issue, I hope it’s ok to ask here! To be fairly honest, it might be the first time in a while I’m asking on an issue in public - I’m not 100% sure that I’m able to describe my issue clearly.

Here we go:

I have two stimulus controllers, one called “rankings” and one called “userview”. It works this way : several rankings are available. I can click on a ranking name, and that will trigger the rendering of this specific ranking, through a partial :

My view:

<%= link_to ranking_path(group), :remote => true, :role => "button", :title => title, :data => { :target => 'ranking.source', :action => 'click->ranking#get ajax:success->ranking#reveal', :html => "true" }, :class=>" btn btn-outline-third btn-sm mb-2 text-left" %>

Stimulus controller:

reveal(event) {
  	const [data, status, xhr] = event.detail;
    console.log("REVEAL RANKING!", this.element)
    console.log(xhr.response)
    var el = document.getElementById("rankings-table")
    var newEl = document.createElement('div')
    var att = document.createAttribute("id")
    att.value = "rankings-table"
    newEl.setAttributeNode(att)
    newEl.innerHTML = xhr.response
    el.parentNode.replaceChild(newEl, el)
  }

The partial is rendered through a ruby controller:

# pages_controller.rb
  def ranking
    if user_signed_in?
      @group = Group.find(params[:id])
      puts @group.id
      respond_to do |format|
        puts "@group.id"
        if request.xhr?
          puts "xhr"
          format.html { render partial: 'rankings', formats: [:html], locals: { groupranking: @group } }
        end
      end
    end      
  end

This part works like a charm! :sparkles: